4th Symphony Concert
Robert Schumann "Genoveva" Overture
Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 4 ("Romantic")

With its dramatic contrasts and innovative tonal nuances, the overture to Robert Schumann's only opera, "Genoveva", sets the scene perfectly for a concert of Romantic music. Bruckner's 4th Symphony, nicknamed the "Romantic" by the composer himself, opens dramatically with a horn call, repeated four times. Later, the use of brass give rise to a hunting mood, which ends in a Ländler.

On the podium is Marc Albrecht, principal conductor of the Amsterdam National Opera, the Netherlands Philharmonic and Netherlands Chamber Orchestra. His impressive international career includes engagements as GMD in Darmstadt, as music director of the Strasbourg Philharmonic, as well as guest appearances with the Berlin, Munich and Vienna Philharmonic Orchestras.


Conductor Marc Albrecht


7th Symphony Concert
19:00 Introduction in the Friedrich-von-Thiersch-Saal
8th Symphony Concert