Die Möwe

The Seagull
By Anton Chekhov

"The Seagull" is a play by Anton Chekhov, written in 1895 and first produced in 1896, generally considered to be the first of his four major plays. It dramatises the romantic and artistic conflicts between four characters: the famous middlebrow story writer Boris Trigorin, the ingenue Nina, the fading actress Irina Arkadina, and her son the symbolist playwright Konstantin Tréplev.

While the famous actress Arcadina loves the young author Trigorin, Arkadina's son Constantine (a young writer) longs for Nina, who wants to become an actress and falls in love with Trigorin; Masha, the daughter of the landlord, is desired by the teacher, but she devotes herself to Constantine.

OPENS: 21 April 2018