3rd Chamber Concert

Works by Robert Schumann, György Kurtág, Paul Engel & Adolf Ruthardt

Robert Schumann »Märchenerzählungen« for Clarinet, Viola & Piano, Op. 132
Robert Schumann Three Romances for Oboe & Piano, Op. 94
György Kurtág (*1926) »Hommage à R. Sch.« Op. 15d for Clarinet, Viola & Piano
Paul Engel (*1949) »Drei Geschichten« for Clarinet & Piano
Adolf Ruthardt Trio for Oboe, Viola & Piano, Op. 34

Robert Schumann was able to tell stories and beautifully bring characters to life in his instrumental music, perhaps more than any other composer. It is not surprising that some of his works bear corresponding titles, such as the "Märchenerzählungen" (Fairy tale narrations) for clarinet and piano. Schumann is also the inspiration for this chamber concert: in addition to his Romances, Op. 94 for oboe and piano, the programme also includes the "Hommage à Robert Schumann" by the great Hungarian composer György Kurtág, as well as a trio for oboe, viola and piano by the late Romantic Adolf Ruthardt, a well-known Schumann editor. The programme concludes with another narrative work by Wiesbaden-based composer Paul Engel.


Chamber ConcertFoyer Grosses Haus14:00 - 16:00