Musik über Musik

Music on Music
Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Suite from "Das Gelb und das Grün", Music for a Puppet Theatre (1952) and new works by composition students of Orm Finnendahl and Gerhard Müller-Hornbach, with reference to works by Bernd Alois Zimmermann

Nan Liu (*1989): "Konsum" for flute, oboe, clarinet, piano and cello
Youngju Rue (*1988): "Options II" for small ensemble
Yongrib Kim (*1984): "Stille und 2. Umkehr" for chamber ensemble 
Philipp Dragic (*1988): "Grau" for small ensemble
Miki Manabe (*1988): "Double Shadow" for clarinet, viola, percussion and piano

A central compositional trait of Zimmermann’s “Die Soldaten” is the juxtaposition and interplay of different styles, either incorporated as “borrowed” music / quotations or assembled as full sections being played in the style of other genres. This begs a question which is often hotly-discussed on the contemporary composer’s scene: how much “borrowed” material can / should be allowed in one’s own original work?

Taking this into account, a number of composers from the younger generation will create chamber music works which make reference to Zimmermann’s oeuvre. Through a range of methodical compositional approaches and techniques, they will incorporate elements of Pop music, delve into Zimmermann’s own typical collage techniques and experiment with the use of direct musical references.


Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie