1st Symphony Concert

Ludwig van Beethoven
Overture "Leonore" No. 3 in C major, Op. 72b
Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 55 "Eroica"

Photo: Anne Nygard / Unsplash
Have we not had enough of Beethoven after the great celebrations of 2020? We don't think so! The 1st Symphony Concert is dedicated to this musical revolutionary, coinciding with the composer's "Fidelio", our first opera premiere of the season.

The programme contains three revolutionary works: in the Overture No. 3 ("Leonore"), a trumpet call announces the end of an unjust regime, while the 4th Piano Concerto revolutionised the genre of the piano concerto. The 3rd Symphony ("Eroica") is a manifesto for the struggle for the ideals of freedom, equality and brotherhood.

The concert features internationally acclaimed pianist Claire Huangci, with Johannes Klumpp on the podium.