7th Symphony Concert

Modest Mussorgsky "Night on Bald Mountain"
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
Leoš Janáček Sinfonietta, Op. 60

Michael Barenboim
Photo: Neda Navaee
Photo: Ruslan Sikunov / Pexels

Programmed to coincide perfectly with the double premiere of "From the House of the Dead" and "The Makropulos Affair", the 7th Symphony Concert features Janáček's "Sinfonietta", Op. 60, which was composed in 1926, between his last two operas. Conductor Alexander Joel says about the work: "I have wanted to conduct the 'Sinfonietta' for a long time. As one of Janáček's late works, it exudes an optimism that we can certainly all use at the moment".

Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto will feature Michael Barenboim as soloist. In addition to maintaining an impressive solo career, he is also concert master of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, the orchestra founded by his father, Daniel Barenboim. In addition, he is Dean and Head of Chamber Music at the Barenboim-Said Academy in Berlin.